Rebel NaNoWriMo

This will be my first year participating in a NaNoWriMo event. I am super excited!

My writing group, Grey Wolfe Publishing, is having one in June, rather than waiting until November, so we are calling it “Rebel NaNo“. I can’t wait to see how this plays out. I have been listening to Water for Elephants from audible.com for inspiration since that story was a product of NaNoWriMo.

Yesterday I spent time writing down each of my characters and how I wanted them to develop within the story. My hope is that if I get stuck or burn out on one part of the story, I can go “visit” another of my characters and see where they take me. Let’s pray it’s somewhere productive. I’m usually not one to plot or prepare, but for this big of a challenge I think you have to have some sort of game plan.

I love the fact that I don’t have to use my time worrying about punctuation and repeat phrases. I can just let my mind and typing fingers move freely. It reminds me of how it felt to drive fast as a teenager without thinking about the consequences. I’m not thinking of the future editing, which I will no doubt struggle through as always, only the joy of the ride.

I’m a short story girl so the biggest piece I have written to completion so far has been about 13,000 words.  50,000 is going to be a challenge for me. I won’t let that diminish my excitement though. I know it will be fun and educational. I hope to do so well this June that I am able to participate with confidence in November’s NaNoWriMo.

I am so glad to have the support of my meet up and GreyWolfePublishing. I can’t wait to get moving! Wish me luck!

Talyn Marie

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rebel NaNoWriMo

  1. Novadestin says:

    (playing catch-up after being sick/moving/busy/etc etc :P)

    I actually read this awhile ago but never responded… silly me 😛 Anyways, something I’ve heard helps short story people with NaNo is to think of each scene or piece as it’s own short story. Then, on a day when you have lots of writing time and are feeling good and read to write, connect the pieces together 🙂

  2. Pingback: Exodus: Perfects « Themself

  3. Pingback: Beyond the Monotony | Writing Wings

    • talyn marie says:

      Thanks for the mention. I do have one suggestion that may help your aversion to the editing process. Try to join a really supportive critique group. I use once a month. By joining a group you get to read other writers work to clear your head of your own once in a while. You get your own work edited in small doses with a lot of constructive feedback and you are motivated by the meetings to rework your pages at least once a month. It may go a little slower depending on how often the group meets but it makes the job easier so it’s a fair trade. Good luck and keep those creative wheels spinning.

  4. Pingback: The End of Camp NaNoWriMo (for now) | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  5. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo Day 23 | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  6. I am participating in NaNoWrimo as well! I am currently working on a short novel for Camp NaNoWrimo. Here is a short description of what I’m working on:
    http://norinesnotebook.wordpress.com/about-time-travel-by-loxley-a-novel/
    Have you heard of NaPoWrimo?
    http://www.napowrimo.net/
    It’s a month of creating one poem per day during the month of April. It’s been a lot of fun. I’ve been participating only on Fridays just to keep it manageable.
    Good luck on your NaNoWrimo novel. 50K is a big mile stone, and a big adventure : D

  7. Pingback: How to Start Off NaNoWriMo…. Some Writing Advice From Snoopy | Self-Publish 101

  8. Pingback: Follow Your Dreams | ramanda429

  9. Talyn,

    I’m so happy that you’ve decided to take on this challenge. I think you’ll find it to be more fun than you anticipate. And you’re right, the planning ahead of time does take away from the pressure of writing 50k words when we actually get there. The other point you made is one I hadn’t thought of… Rebel NaNo is indeed a great “dry run” for November NaNo. It’ll be a great confidence booster and show you that it’s not as difficult a challenge as perhaps you once thought.

    That having been said… don’t stop writing shorts, either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

