Freshly Inspired

Today I read a post that I have to share. The title is “Nickle Lauritzen and the Afterlife” written on “One Boy’s Way of Knowing“. This is an inspirational story about a friend with a terminal illness, a boy with autism, and a man brave enough to love them both honestly.

This story was so touching and moved me to tears. When I write, I am always trying to connect with the reader. I want to make them feel every emotion so strongly that they will carry a bit of me with them always. “Stories that stick with you”…right?

So why is that so hard? Sometimes I get so caught up in trying to write something great, that I forget how much I enjoy writing something honest. I lose that edge that made me want to tell the tale to begin with. While I am struggling to create an action packed climax, filled with dramatic explosions, and hero who have all the answers, real life is slipping by me. I love to write because I want people to see me. To notice that I am here now and to remember me later on. (Even if it’s the smell of dead worms that reminds them- I’ll take it!)

Nickle made me realize that I am not going to write the best story by trying to create the most dramatic twist I can give it. Sometimes the hero slips away…one breath at a time. Sometimes the legacy they leave behind is not a cure for pain, but a friend to help us cope with it.

I am sorry I didn’t get to know Nickle in real life. I would have liked to have been her friend. I am glad her story was told though. It reminds me we all have something to share.

Thanks for reading- Talyn Marie

See full post- “Nickle Lauritzen and the Afterlife

This entry was posted in musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Freshly Inspired

  1. Pingback: One Hundred Names by Cecelia Ahern | Peter J Verdil

  2. Novadestin says:

    (playing catch-up after being sick/moving/busy/etc etc :P)

    A lot of people, especially younger writers have trouble with that whole issue because, in trying to put those strong emotions in there -to make that connection-, they end up getting overly attached and the work suffers as they can’t make the edits later on that need to happen. It’s about finding that perfect balance of being able to connect the readers but still staying disconnected enough as the author.

    Also, thanks for sharing the post!

Leave a Reply

