Mysterious Ways…

They say the Lord works in mysterious ways. I don’t normally post my religious beliefs or try to preach but today I got a sign that put a smile in my heart and I had to share it!

I watched a show on TV the other day where a woman talked about the power of positive thinking. She claims she wrote $12,000,000,000.00 on a piece of paper, put it under her pillow, and sent out a prayer that she becomes rich enough to save her family. A short while later she won exactly $12,000,000,000.00 in the lottery.

I didn’t exactly believe this but, as a joke (sort of), I bought a lottery ticket and vowed to sleep with it under my pillow last night. Being a mother to a rambunctious 15 month old boy whose teething, I was so worn out by bedtime that I forgot to do as planned. Instead I crashed into bed exhausted, not even bothering to change out of the sweatshirt I had worn that day, and was asleep before the word lotto could cross my thoughts.

This morning I went into the kitchen and as I looked at the ticket sitting alone on the counter thought to myself, “there goes my chance at something better.” The drawing is today so I figured I would still put the ticket under my pillow and try to project my happy thoughts to it from work. That way, I reasoned, I can fantasize not only winning the lottery, but sleeping in as well! Why not right?

As I reached under my pillow with the ticket, I felt something small and hard brush my hand. I pulled it out and what I found was so unexpected, it took me a moment to realize what it was. There lay my USB drive from my key chain.

Let me explain…

I always worry that I am going to lose a story from my computer crashing or that I may need to show someone my work while away from my home computer. I don’t have a tablet so I started using this USB as a way to back up my work. I carry copies of all my writing on it and often use it to save notes or new ideas that aren’t saved anywhere else. That little fob holds almost all my sacred writing and since it’s with my keys (which I always have on me) I never lose it.

Yesterday, I took it off my key ring to copy a file and rather than putting it back on, as I have for over a year now, I must have put it in the front pocket of my sweatshirt. Just thinking of losing the ideas, thoughts, and work on that USB makes me ill. But somehow, instead of becoming lost in the void that is my bed frame or the space behind the headboard, instead of going down the laundry shoot with the shirt itself and being destroyed in the washer, it made its way under my pillow.

 

Somehow the symbol of all my dreams to become a writer was left for me to find instead of a winning lotto ticket. I looked to the sky and whispered, “Thank You.”

3b77c8e5082d7b4cac827965d013ccb5

By the way, I looked it up…the chance of me having the winning the lottery ticket at home are 1 in 175,711,530. I’m going to gamble on myself instead, I like those odds better.

Thanks for reading- Talyn Marie

This entry was posted in musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mysterious Ways…

  1. Novadestin says:

    (playing catch-up after being sick/moving/busy/etc etc :P)

    It always amazes me the little moments that just seem to magically “work out.” I love hearing about them. Keep sending out those positive thoughts and your dreams will come true… hopefully this summer after we get done editing the thoughts and ideas on that little fob 😀

Leave a Reply

